Traveler profiles in the movies

Here are my top 10 cross cultural films that I could watch over and over again!

10. Dirty Pretty Things – A dark look at London life through the eyes of an illegal immigrant from Nigeria.  This is when I first noticed Chewetal Ejiofor.

9. National Lampoon’s European Vacation – A classic 80s film following the American family, the Griswalds. This film may just possible include every single ridiculous European stereotype.

8. The Darjeeling Limited – A Wes Anderson travel film about brothers traveling across India by train to attempt to bond with each other.

7. The Constant Gardener – A story about a husband trying to find out about his murdered wife involving corporate corruption and diplomatic secrets.

6. Borat – The real title is Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan. This comedy is not for everyone, but I think it is definitely one of Sacha Baron Cohen’s most hilarious characters.

5. Coming to America – Eddie Murphy plays an African prince who travels to America to find his future queen in Queens, New York. I think I have seen this at least 20 times.  If anyone is curious, you can find the apartment they lived in here, and McDowell’s here.

4. Zero Dark Thirty – Catherine Bigelow’s second nominated film which I think should have won the Oscar, but lost to Argo. Follows the CIA Operative’s decade long hunt for Osama Bin Laden. Chilling and suspenseful.

3. Night on Earth – Jim Jarmusch travels to 5 cities to follow 5 cab drivers on the same night. The kookiest characters are those for New York and Rome.

2. A Mighty Heart – Watch Angelina Jolie’s heart wrenching performance as Mariane Pearl, the wife of Wall Street Journal reporter Daniel Pearl who goes missing in Karachi. Based on real events.

1. The Visitor – While this film doesn’t take place abroad, I thought I would make this my #1 film on the list.  I have a super soft spot for Thomas McCarthy films, and anything with Richard Jenkins. This tells the story of a lonely professor who encounters a young Syrian/Senegalese couple living in his home in New York.

night_on_earth

